• Sun. Aug 14th, 2022

Lewandowski wins 2022 FIFA best men’s player awards

The FIFA The Best awards were presented at FIFA headquarters in Zurich on Monday, bringing the football awards season to a close.

The main FIFA awards were decided by the current national team coaches, each national team’s current captain, one expert journalist from each area, and FIFA.com fans.

On Monday evening, the ceremony began with a special honor for Christine Sinclair, the world’s all-time leading international goal scorer, who received the FIFA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Cristiano Ronaldo received a special prize for setting the all-time scoring record in men’s international football.

Alexia Putellas won the Fifa Best Women’s Player Awards for 2021, while Robert Lewandowski triumphed over Lionel Messi in the men’s category

FIFA Player of the Year (Women's)

Alexia Putellas, who has already won the Ballon d’Or, the Globe Soccer Awards, and the UEFA Women’s award, has won Fifa Player of the Year after defeating her Chelsea teammate.

1. Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

2. Sam Kerr (Chelsea)

3. Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona)

FIFA Player of the Year (Men's)

After missing out on Ballon d’Or honors (Lionel Messi) and Globe Soccer awards (Kylian Mbappe) for the title of greatest player of the year, Robert Lewandowski has finally kept the fifa player award he won last year.

1. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

2. Lionel Messi (PSG)

3. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

FIFPro Men's XI

Goalkeeper (1): Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG / Italy)

Defenders (3): David Alaba (Real Madrid / Austria), Ruben Dias (Man City / Portugal), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus / Italy)

Midfielders (3): Jorginho (Chelsea / Italy), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea / France), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City / Belgium)

Forwards (4): Cristiano Ronaldo (Man United / Portugal), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund / Norway), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich / Poland), Lionel Messi (PSG / Argentina)

FIFA Puskas Award

Winner: Erik Lamela (Tottenham Hotspur / currently Sevilla FC)

Erik Lamela took up the renowned Puskas Award for the finest goal scored anywhere on the planet in 2021.
However, it was a close call, with Mehdi Taremi’s bicycle kick taking first place among fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.