• Sun. Aug 14th, 2022

Gyakye Quayson is still Assin North MP – Minority insists

The Minority caucus has insisted that James Gyakye Quayson, the beleaguered Member of Parliament for Assin North, is still a member of the 8th Parliament.

The group’s statement follows Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-declaration Bonsu’s that the MP’s seat is vacant as a result of an Appeals Court judgment, bringing the total number of MPs in the current Parliament to 274.

“If you listen to the Minority Leader today, he stated that they are aware that they have 136.” That is correct. Why are they focusing on 136 rather than 137? Because they know that the Assin North person has technically been removed by the courts. “They are aware,” the Suame MP stated.

However, Mohammed-Mubarak Muntaka, the Minority Chief Whip, claims that the Assin North MP has not been removed from Parliament.

He claims that because the court process has not been completed, Gyekye Quayson’s seat cannot be declared vacant.

“I’m not sure where the Majority Leader is getting his information. I mean, it’s exactly what Atta Akyea said a few weeks ago on your platform…we’re going to reject him and get him booted out. All of this is merely rhetoric.

“The procedures haven’t run their course yet.” We will remain law-abiding after the procedure is through, regardless of the outcome. But, for the time being, the procedures are in place.

“The Supreme Court issues are ongoing, the Appeals Court issues are ongoing, and the High Court issues are ongoing,” Muntaka said.


In the 2020 elections, James Gyakye Quayson won the Assin North seat with a total of 17,498 votes, or 55.21 percent, against Abena Durowaa Mensah of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), who received 14, 193 votes, or 44.79 percent.

However, a constituent in the seat disputed his election on the basis that he was a dual citizen.

The 2020 parliamentary election in the Assin North Constituency was deemed unlawful by a Cape Coast High Court in the Central Region in July 2021 due to dual citizenship at the time of contesting as an MP.

He has appealed the decision of the High Court to two higher courts since then.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.